fr en
 
 
Advert
Thursday, December 14, 2017
 
You are here:  Home - Travellers - Before departure / Where to go? / Direct destinations / Fez
 

  Fez (year-round) (Morocco)

/uploads/gallery/bf80984c6001f878366fef8a5ef655d9.jpg /uploads/gallery/079c7527816def68704d5e2560b03f94.jpg /uploads/gallery/55bffeeba0b890d34d17cbc7e30a1e43.jpg /uploads/gallery/2577845354d59feb8fc603e1246728b6.jpg /uploads/gallery/c2d9ed3f505d2f1e248352e398bc8fd4.jpg /uploads/gallery/2b240f7730bba9f01fe5b57133dc44e7.jpg

Fez, one of the 4 imperial cities endowed with exceptional cultural riches

More information
 

Fes reigns between the Rif and the Middle Atlas. Climbing a little higher, you can see over its solid walls. An amazing spectacle lies before. The largest medina in the Arab world spreads out to the horizon, as you dive into a unique, authentic universe.

Away from the cars and the pace of life of the west, Fes is best explored on foot. Before entering Fes el Bali, the oldest part of the city, you pass under the blue gate "Bab bou Jelloud". Imposing and sumptuous, it symbolizes the cultural wealth that abounds in Fes. Once through the gate, you're back in the twelfth century.

 

With its network of 9,000 alleyways, it would be so easy to get lost in the medina, and yet one is irresistibly drawn to it. As you weave your way through the alleyways, you gradually delve deeper to discover Moroccan culture: the shops and gardens,  flavours and smells ... The medina, listed as World Heritage by UNESCO, contains a multitude of treasures. Turning a corner, you can admire the stunning Moorish architecture of a madrasah, before you come to Al Quaraouiyine a few meters away. Built in 859, it is the oldest university in the world and the emblem of the spiritual and intellectual importance of the ancient capital of the country.

 

A little further on you can see the ramparts and borjs (towers), a sign that you are approaching Fes El Djedid. "New Fes" is just as welcoming as "old Fes". Climbing Borj south, the city unfolds before your eyes in an amazing panorama with minarets and palaces rising above the skyline. At Borj north you can retrace history as you examine the historical relics in the museum. Then, inevitably, your gaze will fall on the doors of the Royal Palace in Fes, Dar el Makhzen. A work of art carved in copper, we can only be struck by its sheer size. The visit of Fes has lots more to offer, but other treasures are waiting to be discovered beyond the walls.

 

65km from Fes, Meknes, another of the 4 imperial cities, is also listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site. This gigantic work, produced by one man’s megalomania, is a true architectural masterpiece. In this former Sharifian capital, Sultan Moulay Ismaïl commissioned a sumptuous palace, with mosques, monumental gates, imposing ramparts and vast gardens. Little known by tourists, Meknes is not merely a city to travel through; it is one to linger in to discover its Moorish architecture. 

 

At the gateway to Fes and Meknes, the Middle Atlas unveils some of the most grandiose landscape in Morocco. Unusual features that must not be missed, highly recommendable excursions, particularly around Ifrane mountain resort, the pearl of the region: caves, waterfalls and cedar forests... inhabited by its most emblematic representative, the macaque monkey.

 

WHAT TO SEE IN FEZ
 

Sites and Monuments

  • Madrasa Bou Inania,
  • Royal Palaces.
  • Souks and Fondouks.
  • The tanning district.
  • Merinides tombs.
  • Moulay Yacoub hot springs.
  • Olive groves.

 

Parks

  • Ifrane and its national park.

 

IN MEKNES
 

Sites and Monuments

  • Madrasa Bou Inania and Royal Palaces.
  • Mausoleum of Moulay.
  • Bab Mansour and Place El Hedim.
  • Dar Kebira, the Imperial city.
  • Haras de Meknes stud farm.
  • Volubilis, the biggest Roman site in the country.

 

 

GASTRONOMY

 

Starters

  • Mechouia Salad: Salad made from tomatoes, cooked peppers, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice.
  • Salad with olives (meslalla), fennel, feggous (small, thin cucumbers), grated carrots sometimes flavoured with orange juice.

 

Soups

  • Bissara: broad bean soup.
  • Harira: soup made from tomatoes, flour, lentils or peas, served with pieces of meat.

 

Main Dishes

  • Couscous with vegetables, chicken, lamb or beef.
  • Pastilla: Meat pie made from crispy warqua pastry, minced pigeon or chicken, parsley, hard-boiled eggs, almonds and honey, sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar.
  • Briouat: donut made from warqua pastry stuffed with ground meat, chicken, sausages, fish or almonds.
  • Tajine: stew of meat, poultry or fish with vegetables and fruit.
  • Kebabs and keftas (spicy meatballs), eaten with the famous flat round Moroccan bread, plain or flavoured with fennel seeds and caraway.
  • Mechoui, meat roasted on an open fire.

 

Desserts

  • Ka'b al ghzal or gazelle horns.
  • Briouat with honey and almonds.
  • Ghoriba with almonds or sesame seeds.
  • Bechkito: crispy butter cookies.
  • M’hanncha: coiled pastry sprinkled with cinnamon powder.
  • Shebbakia: fried strips of dough with warm honey and toasted sesame seeds.
  • Ktefa: milk pastilla, made from sheets of warqua pastry (flour paste and water) flavoured with orange blossom and almonds served with a little cold milk.
  • Orange salad flavoured with orange flower water and cinnamon.
  • Pancakes with honey and sesame seeds.

 

Drinks

  • Fresh fruit juices: orange, banana, avocado, almond milk...
  • Local Beer: Flag Special, Casablanca, Stork, Heineken.
  • Mahia: fig liquor.
  • Mint tea

 

EVENTS NOT TO BE MISSED

 

March: Enthronement Day in Fes

April: Fes Festival of Sufi Culture

May: Fes Festival of World Sacred Music

June: Sefrou Cherry Festival

September:  Tissa Horse Festival

 

 

 

 

Share
 
 

  practical information

Today's weather

Currency
Dirham (MAD)

Dialling code
+00 212

Visa
Passport

Time zone
-1H in winter / -2H in summer

Flight time
2H15

  useful links

pub en - carre droit - passagers - emplacements internes bas
 
pub - banniere basse - tout le site en
Advert

fr en
 
 
Publicité
Jeudi 21 septembre 2017
 
Vous êtes ici :  Accueil - Passagers - Voyage mode d'emploi / Où partir? / Destinations directes / Fès
 

  Fès (toute l'année) (Maroc)

/uploads/gallery/bf80984c6001f878366fef8a5ef655d9.jpg /uploads/gallery/079c7527816def68704d5e2560b03f94.jpg /uploads/gallery/55bffeeba0b890d34d17cbc7e30a1e43.jpg /uploads/gallery/2577845354d59feb8fc603e1246728b6.jpg /uploads/gallery/c2d9ed3f505d2f1e248352e398bc8fd4.jpg /uploads/gallery/2b240f7730bba9f01fe5b57133dc44e7.jpg

Fès, une des 4 villes impériales dotée d'une richesse culturelle exceptionnelle

En savoir plus sur la destination
 

Située entre le massif du Rif et le Moyen-Atlas, Fès règne. Si on prend un peu de hauteur, il est alors possible de voir au dessus de ses épaisses murailles. Devant vous, le spectacle est incroyable. La plus grande médina du monde arabe s’étend à perte de vue, et déjà, vous plongez dans un univers authentique et unique.

Loin des voitures et du rythme occidental, Fès se découvre à pied. Avant de pénétrer dans Fès el Bali, la plus vieille partie de la ville, il faut passer sous la grande porte bleue « Bab bou jelloud ». Imposante, et somptueuse, elle est le symbole de la richesse culturelle dont regorge Fès. Une fois la porte passée, vous voilà de retour au XIIe Siècle.

 

Avec ses 9000 ruelles, il serait aisé de se perdre dans la médina, et pourtant, irrésistiblement, elle vous attire. Petit à petit, ruelle après ruelle, vous vous enfoncez toujours plus profondément et découvrez la culture marocaine : ses échoppes et ses jardins, ses saveurs et ses odeurs… Cette médina, classée au patrimoine mondiale de l’UNESCO, renferme mille trésors. Au détour d’un coin de rue, vous admirez la superbe architecture arabo-andalouse d’une médersa, avant de faire face à l’université Al Quaraouiyine quelques mètres plus loin. Construite en 859, cette plus vielle université au monde est l’emblème de l’importance spirituelle et intellectuelle de l’ancienne capitale du pays.

 

Un peu plus loin, vous apercevez des remparts et des borjs, signe que vous vous rapprochez de Fès El Djedid. La « nouvelle fès » est tout aussi accueillante que la « vieille ». En montant au Borj sud, la ville se dévoile sous vous yeux dans un panorama étonnant duquel dépassent minarets et palais. Au Borj nord, vous retracez l’histoire en examinant les reliques historiques exposées dans le musée. Puis, immanquablement, votre regard se pose sur les portes du Palais Royal de Fès, Dar el Makhzen. Véritable œuvre d’art taillée dans le cuivre, on ne peut qu’être humble face à son immensité. La visite de Fès est loin d’être finie, mais déjà il faut se hâter pour découvrir d’autres merveilles hors des murailles.

 

A 65km de Fès, une autre des 4 des villes impériales, Meknès, est aussi reconnue au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. L’œuvre gigantesque, résultant de la mégalomanie d’un seul homme, est un véritable joyau architectural. Le sultan Moulay Ismaïl fit construire dans cette ancienne capitale chérifienne palais somptueux, mosquées, portes monumentales, remparts imposants et vastes jardins. Très peu connue des touristes, Meknès n’est pas une ville dans laquelle on passe, mais où l’on s’arrête afin d’y découvrir son architecture hispano-mauresque.

 

Aux portes de Fès et de Meknès, le Moyen Atlas dévoile, quant à lui, ses paysages parmi les plus grandioses du Maroc. Des curiosités à ne pas manquer, des excursions vivement conseillées, autour notamment de la station de montagne d’Ifrane, la perle de cette région : grottes, cascades, et forêts de cèdres raviront les randonneurs… Ouvrez l’œil et peut-être apercevrez-vous son représentant le plus emblématique, le singe magot.

 

 

LIEUX A VISITER

 

A Fès

  • Médersa Bou Inania
  • Palais impériaux.
  • Souks et Fondouks.
  • La forteresse Borj Nord.
  • Le quartier des tanneurs.
  • Tombeaux des Mérinides.
  • Thermes de Moulay Yacoub.
  • Oliveraies

 

Parcs

  • Ifrane et son parc national.

 

A MEKNES

Sites et monuments

  • Médersas et palais impériaux.
  • Mausolée des Moulay Ismaïl.
  • Bab Mansour et la place El Hédim.
  • Dar Kebira, la cité impériale.
  • Haras régional de Meknès.
  • Volubilis, la plus importante cité romaine du pays.

 

 

GASTRONOMIE A FES

 

Entrées

  • Salade Mechouia : salade à base de tomates, poivrons cuits, ail, d'huile d'olive et jus de citron.
  • Salades d'olives (meslalla), de fenouil, de feggous (petits concombres longs et fins), de carottes râpées parfois parfumées au jus d'orange.

 

Soupes

  • Bissara : soupe de fève.
  • Harira : soupe à base de tomates, farine, lentilles ou pois, agrémentée de quelques morceaux de viande.

 

Plats

  • Couscous aux légumes, poulet, agneau ou bœuf.
  • Pastilla : feuilleté à base d’émincés de pigeon ou de poulet, persil, œuf dur, amandes, et miel, saupoudré de cannelle et de sucre.
  • Briouat : beignet à base de pâte feuilletée, farci de viande hachée, de poulet, de saucisses, de poisson ou d’amandes.
  • Tajine : ragoût de viande, de volaille ou de poisson, accompagné de légumes et de fruits.
  • Brochettes et keftas (boulettes de viande hachée épicée) grillées, qui se dégustent avec les célèbres pains marocains de forme ronde, assez plats, natures ou parfumés aux graines de fenouil ou de carvi.
  • Méchoui.

 

Desserts

  • Kaab el ghzal ou cornes de gazelle.
  • Briouat au miel et aux amandes.
  • Ghoriba aux amandes ou aux graines de sésame.
  • Bechkito : petits-beurre croustillants.
  • Mhanncha : sorte de serpents lovés et recouverts de cannelle en poudre.
  • Shebbakia : rubans de pâte frits avec du miel chaud et des graines de sésame grillées.
  • Ktéfa : pastilla au lait, à base de feuilles de ouarka (pâte à base de farine et d'eau) parfumées à la fleur d'oranger et d’amandes pilées, sur lesquelles on verse un peu de lait refroidi.
  • Salades d’oranges parfumées à l’eau de fleurs d’orangers et à la cannelle.
  • Crêpes au miel et grains de sésame.

 

Boisssons

  • Thé à la menthe.
  • Jus de fruits frais : orange, banane, avocat, lait d'amande…
  • Bières locales : Flag Special, Casablanca, Stork, Heineken.
  • Mahia : alcool de figues.

 

 

EVENEMENTS A NE PAS MANQUER

 

A Fès

  • Mars : Fête du trône à Fès
  • Avril : Festival de la culture soufie à Fès
  • Mai : Festival des musiques sacrées du monde (Fès)
  • Juin : Fête des cerises de Séfrou
  • Septembre : Festival du cheval de Tissa

 

Partager
 
 

  infos pratiques

Météo du jour

Devise
Dirham (MAD)

Indicatif téléphonique
+00 212

Formalités
Passeport

Décalage horaire
-1H en hiver / -2H en été

Durée de vol
2H15

  liens utiles

pub - carre droit - passagers - emplacements internes bas
 
pub - banniere basse - tout le site fr
Publicité